Back to projects
Mar 13, 2026
3 min read

YouTube Resume

Chrome extension that lets you automatically resume YouTube videos exactly where you left off.

So What is YouTube Resume?

Following the K.I.S.S. principle, YouTube Resume is a Chrome extension that automatically resumes where you left off on YouTube.

Doesn’t YouTube Already Do This?

Yeahhh… No.

Ideally, this extension shouldn’t exist. Heavy on ideally. But for some reason, YouTube almost never consistently remembers where I (among many other users on Reddit and complaints from people I personally know) left off. I’ll reopen a past YouTube video and it’ll either start me from scratch or start off at a very “behind” timestamp. This is especially frustrating on long videos (tutorials, podcasts, etc.).

That’s why I made this.

Updates

Almost forgot I have a site. So, let me keep you up to date on how much this extension has evolved/changed since its inception (on March, I think).

What changed since

Currently, it’s at v4.0.0 on Chrome Web Store, with the latest update being on September 10, 2026, so yes, it’s actively maintained. And even as I write this changelog (I’m using PagesCMS actually, cool stuff), I know there’s a current bug I’m monitoring, so expect an update soon.

Anywho, here’s a summary of the latest changes till date…

  • You can now pin (up to 20) saved videos, so they’re always at the top of your list
  • Added a saved videos panel with all the good stuff (thumbnail, title, channel name, watch progress)
  • Added a settings panel (minimum watch time before a video is saved, when a video is counted as finished , how far to rewind on resume, among many others)
  • You can now remove completed videos in one go from the saved videos panel
  • Currently, the extension respects timestamp links (opening a video with a specific starting time (?t=) is respected over your saved position) but I personally hate it, since YouTube’s isn’t always reliable, so I’m planning on fixing it, but will add a toggle for it in the settings so you can turn it on/off

Anyway, just like before, even if you never touch the saved videos panel, the extension still remains true to its purpose as a behind-the-scenes/background extension. It will always work with no effort from you.